What Comes After Book Review

Posted on Updated on


What Comes After is a beautifully written book by Steve Watkins about a 16 year old vegitarian and animal loving girl named Iris Wight. In the beginning of the story Iris lived in Maine with her best friend Beatrice since her father passed away. Her mother abandoned her and her father when she was very young. After Beatrice’s parents had issues with their marriagemIris was forced to live on a farm in North Carolina with her Aunt Sue and her cousin Book who eventually became abusive to her. I don’t want to spoil the ending. But I will say that this novel is a very touching story about hope and staying strong in difficult times.  You might even go through an emotional rollercoaster while reading this book. (In a good way of course.) There is also a hint of romance in the book. But it does not take over the whole story. What I like the most about this novel is that both the protagonist and the antagonists have some growth in this story. I would give this book 4 1/2 stars out of 5.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s